KB5 2023

The KB5 road race 2023 – Saturday 11th of March

Enter Here

Please follow the Facebook event for up-to-date information closer to the date.

The ‘KB5’ road race is held every year by Edinburgh University Hare & Hounds. The race starts and finishes inside the Kings Buildings Science and Engineering Campus, on West Mains Road. The course consists of a 5 mile road loop, with quite a few hills, though none of them steep. All participants must be 17 years old or over on the day of the race.

A third of all proceeds from the race will go to charity – we are very pleased to announce that, we’ll be supporting SNAC (Scottish Network for Arthritis in Children) this year.

Registration & Entry

Entry: Pre-entries £6 (£8 for non-SAL members).
Extra £2 charge on the day.

You MUST be aged 17 or over to run in this race.

Online entry is now available through Entry Central here.

Entry on the day and registration + number collection will be from 10:30am – 11:45am (specific venue tbc).

Please note that the event fee and associated costs are non-refundable, but entries can be transferred until Thursday 9th of March 2023.


Race Route

Course map:

Please note the new start for this year – on James Hutton Road, outside the Ashworth Building in the Kings Buildings Campus.

The race finishes on James Dewar Road in the car park outside KB House.

Marshals will be placed at crossroads, to warn oncoming traffic – please follow the directions of marshals at all times. Please also note that no road closures are in place, so please take care and beware of passing traffic.


Prize giving will take place promptly after the race, in Lecture Theatre C in JCMB (James Clerk Maxwell Building). There will be team and individual medals up for grabs, as well as a bake sale and refreshments. That evening will see the club hosting a charity ball – all current, past members, and friends are invited to join us! Please send an email to euhhcaptains@gmail.com for enquiries.

Previous Results

Available here.

Course Records (amended course – 2009 onwards)

Category Time Record Holder Year
Senior Women 27:35 Rosie Smith (2010)
Women V40 31.38 Megan Wright (2017)
Women U20 30:21 Sarah Douglas (2015)
Senior Men 24:39 Andrew Douglas (2013)
Men V40 25:42 Keith Hood (2014)
Men U20 24:54 Euan Gillham (2017)

Course Records (up until 2008)

Category Time Record HOlder Year
Senior Women 27:04 Gill Palmer (2003)
Women V35 28:47 S. Branney (2000)
Women V45 31:47 Erica Christie (2004)
Women U20 28:13 Rosie Smith (2005)
Senior Men 24:43 AC Muir (2002)
Men V40 25:11 Brian Kirkwood (2000)
Men V50 26:52 Brian Kirkwood (2004)
Men U20 25:42 Kris Berry (2004)